Learning to podcast

February 19, 2008 at 5:11 pm (Podcast, social media) (, , )

Podcast stationI turned in my podcast assignment for class today. Let me just say, it was an interesting experience. On top of learning how to use Garageband, I had to learn to like how I sound in a recording. I’m pretty sure most people are surprised with how they sound. I’ve been a little under the weather, so I had to hear a little bit of that nasal-y tone as well. But when all is said and done, I actually enjoyed creating the podcast.

I tend to be a little bit of a computer nerd so I learned how to use, cut and edit in Garageband pretty quickly. The only thing I couldn’t figure out was how to get my laptop fan to stay quiet. Every time I started recording, it would start going crazy. When I edited the recording, I could hear a little bit of the cuts because of the background humming noise. Luckily, the “female radio” feature was there to smooth it down. Any ideas on how to get it go away completely and isolate my voice?

Other than that, I figured out a technique to make myself sound more natural. I pretended the computer was another public relations colleague. So, I did the entire podcast in one recording and talked like I was having an actual conversation (talking hands and all). I found that I could let go of the nerves from the thought of the microphone and be myself.

If you are looking for more tips to creating a podcast, Jason Van Orden has a great complete and free online tutorial. Just visit: How to Podcast. He talks about everything from terminology to promotion.

*Image courtesy of Flickr: the_scottish_podcaster. It was taken under the Creative Commons license.

Permalink Leave a Comment